I FEAR!

I started penning this poem several weeks ago. It was supposed to be part of a poetry collaboration series I was doing. I’d like to share it with you because of it’s relevance…I’m still looking for people to participants…

I FEAR! 

I FEAR!

I heard that fear was false evidence appearing real, but the truth is, this is not always true, for there is true terror that exists and resides right here.

I FEAR!

That evil is not some monster that transforms into a physical beast.  It sits, it plans, it contemplates and it is human and it morphs  perhaps right in front of you, and may even look you straight in the face.

I FEAR!

For the safety of the children, not just the ones that I love, but all children, in summer camps, educators and counselors. Sitting in schools learning to cower in the corner, another lock down drill, not being shielded from the FEAR

Their brains should be knowledge, creativity and imagination filled, not filled with FEAR. Another lock down drill. It should be a place where they can thrive not feel trapped inside, not learning how to get out alive, forced to still their minds.  Another lock down drill.

I FEAR!

Another conversation about what I would do in a situation that I couldn’t control. A 9 year old begging my opinion on what I would do if bad person should infiltrate my classroom at school, to harm as many as possible as their main goal. Knowing this at only 9 years old.

I FEAR!

Never finding true love because it’s so hard to come by in a world full of hate, debate and the emotionally irate. Where the simplest of things irritate. Where you scan a movie theater, a mall, a restaurant, a nightclub, a concert, and now we are forced to hesitate.

I FEAR!

Inequality and intolerance. Why can’t people love who they love. Why does everyone feel the need to judge. Everything?  Why have we become this opinioNation? Why must we demand liberation without deliberation? Why can we not be each other’s’ inspiration, foundation, salvation?  Why must some face this man made damnation? Are we all not but one in creation!

I FEAR!

Hate!

I FEAR!

That prayers are not always answered without action!! Yet i feel that I’ve taken none. Have you taken enough? They say that the connections we make and the breathes we take, the dash in between and the lives we touch is our sum. Why must we another life be cut short before it has really even truly begun?

I FEAR!

Blind eyes who fail to see…so much hate and bigotry ask yourself is it me that fails to see so much hatred and  bigotry, is it possible that it could lie within me ?

I FEAR!

Hatred running rampant like gun fire, as the body count rises and continues to rise we continue to shout “not one more,” but there are just more and more and more and more and more and more and more.  What are we fighting each other for? And less we forget that  every 1 matters. Everyone! There is such a long line of people connected to 1 human life. What are we fighting with each other for? A FEAR of loving? A fear of living? A fear of someone having more? Are we living the dream or a true honest horror? So many closed doors, but what for?

I FEAR!

A youth riddled with anxiety,   pressure…it’s clear to me, the question you see, what is really free?

I FEAR!

The future.

I FEAR!

Not just here, but everywhere!! Will we ever be safe?  Why is the time not now, as we dread the ticking time clock, working our 9 to 5 perhaps forgetting to be grateful that you’re alive. Will we ever be safe? It’s already after before, it becomes too late…

I FEAR!

But still I hope! Love wins so why the debate,  love is love, so please squash the hate.

download

Leave a Reply

