My picks for NBC’s Hairspray Live!

As some of  you know, I went to NYC a few weeks ago and auditioned for Tracy Turnblad in the newest live musical coming to NBC on December 7th.  #TheHuursprayyss….

hl2
Audition Ticket

The overall experience was…pretty awesome!!! I couldn’t feel my bottom half and I’m fairly certain that I sang the wrong song…but it was a ton of fun.

Already rounding out the cast is…

The incomparable Harvey Fierstein reprising his role as Edna Turnblad, American Idol alum and Broadway sensation JHud as Motormouth Maybelle, funny man and chameleon Martin Short as Wilbur Turnblad and DWTS  fav Derek Hough as Corny Collins…

 

Below are a few of my picks for potential cast-mates…

Lil Inez

Skai_jackson

Skai Jackson from Disney’s Jessie… or an unknown

Seaweed

 

 Todrick Hall or Trevor Jackson

 

Velma Von Tussle

Kristin C, SJP,  Jane Krakowski, Elizabeth Banks, Susan Lucci or Kathie Lee 

Or maybe, perhaps, in the tradition of  the groundbreaking before-it’s-time casting of Cinderella with Brandy, from the same producers Neil Meron & Craig Zadan… a nice little twist of Velma for me would be the amazing…

download

Vanessa Williams

Amber

 

Chloe Grace  Moretz, T Swiz or Dove Cameron 

Prudy

Allison Janney or Christine Baranski

Penny

 

The Tis (could totes see her as Amber too though) Ariana Grande, Demi Lovato or Bailee Madison

 

Link

While I’d be totally on board for Joe or Nick Jonas…I’m rooting for…

 

download (5)

The Biebs

Tracy

 

And as for Tracy…While I know that people have been throwing around names like one of the funniest gals going…Rebel Wilson and even Meghan Trainor…who would probably do a great job…I’m really hoping that they go with the tradish of casting an an unknown star. However, I’d also be perfectly content if Marissa Jaret Winokur was offered the opp to reprise her Tony Award winning Tracy along side Fierstein.

 

 

GettyImages-84001771

The Chubby Chasers’ Dream….I know some gurls that are Chubbylicious…

One thing is for certain that the Open Casting Call for potential Tracy’s was a chubby chasers’ dream…the line of nearly a thousand hopefuls wrapping around several New York City blocks….I overheard a random stranger, on his cell phone, standing in front of the Sturbacks say…”Yo, dude it’s like chubby chicks fo days, and dey all look da same…”

Dear NBC…

                     My suggestione…

A promo piece starring …

 

 

Ricki Lake, Jaret Winkour and Nikki Blonsky…and maybe even throw Tracy Morgan in there…

Broadway Tracy’s past…several hopefuls…doing a flashmob that introduces the new girl…

hairsprayplaylist-2081

with them all saying “and I’m Tracy…no I’m Tracy…and then inevitably introducing the unknown girl who gets cast…”

i-can-t-keep-calm-i-m-tracy

 

#AndImTracy

 

NBC’s Hairspray Live! Premieres on December 7, 2016…and no matter who is cast…I can’t wait…

Leave a Reply

