“Hey B*tch!” & the Generational Gap

originally posted on What the Flicka? by Erin K. Moffat

When I went to Make-Up School in New York I felt like a fish out of water. Everyone dressed cooler and looked like they belonged there. I felt like the girl from A Chorus Line who said that when she got off the bus in NYC with a bag full of dreams from her small town USA she looked like a nurse. I literally wore white shoes and a white dress to the first day of class. So I can relate!

The job placement coach and I had sat down to talk (she looked like an MTV VJ). She said that she “couldn’t get a read on me at first, but at some point felt that we were connected at the soul.”

“Can I ask you something, being younger than me?”
“Sure!” I replied.
“Do you call your friends a bitch?” she asked. Now I had to think about it for a second.
“Is this a test of my character? Sure, when they’re bitches.”

She then pointed to a girl who had waved to her. She said, “The reason that I’m asking is because that girl thought that it was socially acceptable to say ‘Hey Bitch!’ to me and I was like, I’m nobody’s bitch. (And furthermore) She calls everyone a bitch.”

It suddenly clicked that she was talking about the use of fowl language as a term of endearment. Duh! I will admit that two of my best girlfriends and I do use distasteful language to refer to each other, but only with the utmost of respect.

“Love you Bitch”
“Hey sluttly Mcslutty!”
“Yo, hooker what you doing?”
“Text me back skank! I miss u.”

She said that she didn’t get my generation thinking that it was okay to talk like that. As a career placement counselor she would be very concerned about her choice of verbiage and possible future employment. She continued, “Hey Bitch, is just offensive.” I explained that it was just misuse of the, “Hey Bitch.” I admitted that there are just certain people that you can call a hooker who will call you slut bag ho and an embrace will follow, and then someone that you don’t know, well, you should know the difference. If a stranger came up to me and called me a dirty slut I’d take it at face value. If a potential employer called me a dirty slut I’d probably be very confused. If my best friend called me a dirty slut I’d know that it came from her heart.

Do you call your bestie a “dirty slut” as a form of love and affection or is it completely unacceptable and offensive to you?

Leave a Reply

